Flag

An official website of the United States government

Contact Us

Emergency Assistance

For immediate assistance within Samoa dial: Police 911 | Fire 911 | Ambulance 911

In the event of an emergency involving an American citizen that requires urgent consular assistance in Samoa, please note our opening hours and contact details below. Emergencies include the death, arrest or serious injury/illness of an American citizen, victims of serious crime, or the loss/theft of a U.S. passport and travel is scheduled within the next 10 business days.

Business Hours: 9:00am – 5:00pm

The Embassy is closed on weekends and U.S. and Samoan holidays.

Emergency Services for U.S. Citizens (During Business Hours)

In emergency situations, U.S. citizens should contact the American Citizens Services at ApiaConsular@state.gov.  This email is monitored regularly throughout the day.  You may also call us at: +685 21631, 22696, 21436 or 21452 press 0 for the operator or call extension 2222 and leave a message.

 

Emergency Services for U.S. Citizens (After Hours)

Please note: These contact details are for U.S. Citizen emergency queries only.

For after-hours emergencies call: +685 7771776 and leave a message.  The Duty Officer will return your call.  If calling from the U.S. dial 011 685 7771776.

Emergency Visa Requests

Refer to our Visa Page for more information.

Other Information

To contact the Department of State in the U.S. call 202-647-5225 after hours.

Emergencies DO NOT INCLUDE inquiries about U.S. visas (including green cards and naturalization), routine passport, citizenship, notary, taxation or federal benefits questions.

For routine American Citizen Services contact us at ApiaConsular@state.gov.

Holidays

United States Holidays: FEDERAL HOLIDAYS .

November 2023

Veterans Day
Friday, November 10
(USA)

Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 23
(USA)

December 2023

Christmas Day
Monday, December 25
(USA/Samoa)

Boxing Day
Tuesday, December 26
(Samoa)

January 2024

New Year’s Day
Monday, January 1
(U.S./Samoa)

Day after New Year’s Day
Tuesday, January 2
(Samoa)

Birthday of Martin Luther King Jr.
Monday, January 15
(USA)

February 2024

President’s Day
Monday, February 19
(USA)

March 2024

Good Friday
Friday, March 29
(Samoa)

Day after Good Friday
Saturday, March 30
(Samoa)

April 2024

Easter Monday
Monday, April 1
(Samoa)

May 2024

Mother’s Day
Monday, May 13
(Samoa)

Memorial Day
Monday, May 27
(USA)

June 2024

Samoa Independence Day
Saturday, June 1
(Samoa)

Juneteenth
Wednesday, June 19
(USA)

July 2024

Independence Day (observed)
Thursday, July 4
(USA)

August 2024

Father’s Day
Monday, August 12
(Samoa)

September 2024

Labor Day
Monday, September 2
(USA)

October 2024

Columbus Day
Monday, October 14
(USA)

November 2024

Veterans Day
Monday, November 11
(USA)

Canterbury Anniversary Day (Christchurch only)
Friday, November 15
(NZ)

Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 28
(USA)

December 2024

Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25
(USA/Samoa)

Boxing Day
Thursday, December 26
(Samoa)