An official website of the United States government

Visa Waiver Program

Visa Waiver Program

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) allows citizens of participating countries to travel to the United States without a visa for stays of 90 days or less, when they meet all requirements explained below. Travelers must be eligible to use the VWP and have a valid Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) approval prior to travel.

If you are eligible to travel on the VWP, but prefer to have a visa in your passport, you may still apply for a visitor (B) visa.

You must be a citizen or national of VWP-participant country. The following 41 countries are Visa Waiver Program participants.

To apply for your Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) authorization, please visit the ESTA website.